Since being ratified on August 16, 2007, when the Citizen Potawatomi Nation’s voters endorsed a constitutional reform, the tribal government’s current structure supports the Potawatomi tradition of representative government by creating a sixteen-member tribal legislature.

Five legislators are elected from within Oklahoma, eight legislators from districts outside of Oklahoma, and the remaining three positions are held by the executive officers of the tribe

Each year, tribal elections conclude at the Saturday of the annual CPN Family Reunion Festival, where seats in the legislature are on the ballot alongside any necessary judicial appointments and a general up or down vote on the annual tribal budget.

Voters can cast a ballot in person on CPN Election Day inside the polling station at the tribal district court at 1601 S. Gordon Cooper Drive, Shawnee, Oklahoma, 74801. Or they can file an absentee ballot for the elections concerning their specific district. Absentee ballot request forms are mailed out to all tribal citizens using a master list kept by the CPN Tribal Rolls Department, so it is imperative that Citizen Potawatomi keep that office up to date on their residence.

Vice-ChairmanLinda CappsUnopposedJune 2018
Secretary/TreasurerD. Wayne TrousdaleUnopposedJune 2018
District 5Gene LambertUnopposedJune 2018
District 6Rande PayneUnopposedJune 2018
District 7Mark JohnsonBrowning NeddeauJune 2018
District 8Dave CarneyUnopposedJune 2018
District 10David BarrettN/AJune 2019
District 11Lisa KraftN/AJune 2019
District 13Bobbie BowdenN/AJune 2019
District 9Paul WesselhoftN/AJune 2020
District 12Paul SchmidlkoferN/AJune 2020
Tribal ChairmanJohn "Rocky" BarrettN/AJune 2021
District 1Roy SlavinN/AJune 2021
District 2Eva Marie CarneyN/AJune 2021
District 3Robert WhistlerN/AJune 2021
District 4Jon BoursawN/AJune 2021